Skip to content
Fact-checked reviewImage

Krea AI Review: Pricing and What 100 Free Units Buy

Image and video workspace with a real-time canvas

Reviewed by Amit KumarFacts checked Updated 8 min read
Krea AI homepage
Krea AI homepage, captured October 13, 2026.

Krea is a generation workspace rather than a single model. Image, video and 3D models sit behind one interface, alongside real-time canvas editing, upscaling to 22K and LoRA style training. It is built for designers and art directors who want to steer an image while it generates instead of typing a prompt and starting again. The free plan gives 100 units a day, Basic is $9 a month, and Pro is $35 a month or $21 a month billed yearly.

Quick verdict

The free plan is a look at the interface, not a way to make work. At Krea's own conversion it buys roughly one image a day and carries no commercial licence. Above that, the tiers are priced more simply than they first appear. Pro and Max cost exactly the same per generation, so moving up buys limits, not a discount, and the 40% annual saving is the only real price break Krea offers.

Best forSteering images on a live canvasConsistent house style via LoRAPrint-size upscaling to 22K

How we reviewed Krea AI

Every Krea AI plan, price and limit in this review comes from Krea AI's own pages, checked on , and links to the page it came from. All 2 sources are listed at the end. A review cannot be bought. How these reviews are written

Krea AI at a glance

Prices and unit conversions are from krea.ai/pricing. We read the plan list again on 13 October 2026 and the conversions on 24 September 2026. On Product Hunt, Krea first appeared on 20 December 2023 and has shipped five launches since: Krea Chat reached #3 of the day in February 2025 and Krea 1 reached #2 in June 2025. It holds a 4.2 rating from 13 reviews with 1.4K followers, a thin review base, so weight it accordingly.

What is Krea AI used for?

Directing an image instead of re-rolling it

The real-time canvas is the reason to choose Krea over a prompt box. You adjust while it generates, a different working method and the one the product is built around.

Krea AI features page
Krea AI features page, captured October 13, 2026.

A consistent house style

LoRA training on your own reference images keeps output on-brand across a campaign. The free plan and Pro train on 50 images; Max lifts that to unlimited training on up to 2,000 images, the practical difference between a look and a style guide.

Upscaling for print and large format

Free stops at 2K. Paid plans go to 22K, which is what makes output usable for print, billboards and large displays and not only screens.

Image and video in one subscription

Units are spent across image, video and 3D. Bear the exchange rate in mind: a video runs about 240 units against roughly 78 for an image, so a video costs about three images.

Exploring variations in parallel

Concurrency is the hidden feature. It is one generation at a time on free, 8 images and 4 videos on Pro, and unlimited images on Max. For exploratory work that changes the pace more than the unit count does.

Is Krea AI free?

There is a free plan, but it is small once you convert it. 100 units a day works out at roughly one image generation. Here is the arithmetic, which is ours. Krea states that Pro's 20,000 units a month buy about 257 generations on its Nano Banana 2 model, which puts a generation at roughly 78 units. At 100 units a day the free plan affords about 1.3 image generations a day, and a video at roughly 240 units is out of reach on a single day's allowance.

Krea AI pricing page
Krea AI pricing page, captured October 13, 2026.

The rest of the free tier:

  • Models: all of them, but with limited access.
  • Upscaling: to 2K, against 22K on paid plans.
  • LoRA training: limited, 50 images.
  • Concurrency: 1 image at a time, and no video concurrency at all.
  • Commercial licence: none, covered below.

Use it to see whether Krea's interface suits you, and nothing more.

How much does Krea AI cost?

Basic is $9 a month, or $5 a month billed yearly, with 5,000 units a month. Pro is $35 a month, or $21 billed yearly. Max is $105, or $63 yearly. Business is $200, or $160 yearly. Krea advertises 40% off for annual billing. Basic is a plan we found on the pricing page on 13 October 2026 (checked 13 October 2026); the page shows its yearly price as $5 in the plan cards and $5.25 in the comparison table.

Krea AI plans, in USD. Generation counts are Krea's own conversions, checked 24 September 2026; Basic added from the 13 October 2026 reading.

PlanMonthlyBilled yearlyUnitsKrea's conversionConcurrency
Free$0$0100 a dayAbout 1 image a day1 image, no video
Basic$9$55,000 a monthNot statedNot stated
Pro$35$2120,000 a month257 generations or 83 videos8 image, 4 video
Max$105$6360,000 a month771 generations or 250 videosUnlimited image, 8 video
Business$200$16080,000 a monthNot statedUnlimited both
EnterpriseSalesSalesCustomCustomUnlimited

Business includes up to 50 seats, SAML SSO and priority support. Enterprise adds custom compute packages and seat counts, custom LoRA training, Slack integration, audit logs and indemnification.

Moving up does not make images cheaper

Pro costs about $0.14 a generation monthly, or $0.08 billed yearly. Max costs exactly the same: $0.14 and $0.08. The allowance scales precisely with the price, 20,000 units for $35 and 60,000 for $105, so you get three times the units for three times the money. What Max buys is unlimited image concurrency, more video concurrency and unlimited LoRA training on up to 2,000 images. It does not buy a discount.

Business is worse per unit: 80,000 units for $200 is about $0.19 a generation. You pay for up to 50 seats, SSO and support, and accept a higher unit rate to get them. The sensible approach is to pick the plan by the concurrency and training limits you need, then buy annually if you can.

The free plan has no commercial licence

Krea lists a commercial licence as a feature of Pro, Max and Business. The free plan does not carry one. It is the most consequential line on the pricing page and the easiest to skim past, because everything else on the free tier is about how much you can make, and this is about what you may do with it.

For a client deliverable, a product, an advertisement or paid content, free is the wrong starting point at any volume. Pro at $21 a month billed yearly is the cheapest tier we can confirm includes the licence. The Basic plan's licence terms are not stated in what we read, so check them before relying on Basic for client work. For personal work, experiments and learning the interface, the free plan is fine within its one-image-a-day ceiling.

Krea vs Ideogram

Both are image generators with free tiers, built for different jobs. Krea is a workspace: many models, real-time canvas control, upscaling to 22K, LoRA training on your own style, and video alongside images. Choose it when the generation is the start of the work. Ideogram is specialised, built around text rendering inside images and character consistency from a single reference. Choose it when the image contains words, since typography is the weak point of most general models. Its commercial licence starts at Plus, $15 a month billed annually.

The free tiers fail differently too. Krea's is a hard daily unit budget of about one image. Ideogram's free credits are described as available "weekly for eligible accounts", a qualification that makes the allowance conditional and not merely small. Neither gives you a commercial licence.

Who Krea suits, and who it does not

It suits designers and art directors who want to steer instead of re-roll. The real-time canvas, 22K upscaling and LoRA training on your own reference images are tools for a consistent body of work, not one-off pictures, and Pro's concurrency of 8 images and 4 videos matters more than it sounds when you explore variations. It also suits anyone who wants image, video and 3D in one subscription rather than three.

Skip it if you hope to work seriously on the free plan: about one image a day with no commercial licence is an evaluation tier. Skip it if you expect volume discounts, because there are none above the annual discount. If video is your main output, remember that a video costs about 240 units against 78 for an image, so a video-heavy month spends a plan quickly. With 13 Product Hunt reviews behind it, the community signal is thin, which is worth weighing before an annual commitment.

Krea AI screenshots

More of Krea AI's own website, captured . Each caption says which page it shows.

Krea AI use cases page
Krea AI use cases page, captured October 13, 2026.
Krea AI homepage, further down the page
Krea AI homepage, further down the page, captured October 13, 2026.
Krea AI homepage, further down the page
Krea AI homepage, further down the page, captured October 14, 2026.
Krea AI homepage, further down the page
Krea AI homepage, further down the page, captured October 14, 2026.

Sources

Unit conversions and plan details were read from the pages below on 24 September 2026. The pricing page was read again on 13 October 2026.

  • Krea pricing: plan prices, unit allowances, Krea's own unit-to-generation conversions, concurrency, upscaling limits, where the commercial licence starts and the Basic plan (13 October 2026)
  • Krea on Product Hunt: the date it first appeared, the Krea Chat and Krea 1 rankings, rating and review count

Krea AI pros and cons

Pros

  • One subscription covers image, video and 3D rather than three separate tools
  • Real-time canvas control is a different workflow from prompt-and-wait generation
  • A 40% annual discount, the largest real price break Krea offers
  • LoRA training on up to 2,000 images on Max, enough to hold a house style across a campaign
  • Krea publishes its own unit-to-generation conversions, so project cost can be calculated before you start

Cons

  • The free plan's 100 units a day works out at roughly one image generation
  • No commercial licence on the free plan; it starts at Pro
  • Pro and Max cost exactly the same per generation, so moving up buys no volume discount
  • Business costs more per unit than Pro or Max, because you pay extra for seats and SSO
  • Free upscaling stops at 2K and allows no video concurrency at all
  • Only 13 Product Hunt reviews, a thin community signal

The bottom line on Krea AI

Best for

  • Steering images on a live canvas
  • Consistent house style via LoRA
  • Print-size upscaling to 22K

Not the right fit? Compare

Facts checked

Visit Krea AI

Krea AI FAQ

Is Krea AI free?

Yes, but it is small. The free plan gives 100 units a day, and by our arithmetic from Krea's own conversions an image generation costs about 78 units, so roughly one image a day. Free also caps upscaling at 2K, allows one image at a time with no video concurrency, and carries no commercial licence.

How much does Krea AI cost?

Basic is $9 a month or $5 billed yearly, Pro is $35 or $21 billed yearly, Max is $105 or $63 yearly, and Business is $200 or $160 yearly. Enterprise is quoted by sales. Krea advertises 40% off for annual billing. Checked on krea.ai/pricing, 13 October 2026.

What does one Krea unit buy?

Krea states that Pro's 20,000 units a month buy about 257 generations on Nano Banana 2, or 83 videos on Seedance 2.0. That works out at roughly 78 units per image and about 240 per video, our arithmetic from Krea's figures. The conversions are model-specific, so another model will use units at a different rate.

Is Krea Max better value than Pro?

Not per generation. Pro gives 20,000 units for $35 and Max gives 60,000 for $105, so both work out at about $0.14 a generation monthly or $0.08 billed yearly. Max buys unlimited image concurrency, higher video concurrency and LoRA training on up to 2,000 images, so choose it for those limits and not for a discount.

Can I use Krea images commercially on the free plan?

No. Krea lists a commercial licence as a feature of the Pro, Max and Business plans, and the free plan does not include one. The cheapest tier we can confirm includes it is Pro at $21 a month billed yearly.

Krea or Ideogram?

Krea is a workspace with many models, real-time canvas control, upscaling to 22K, LoRA training and video, so choose it when generation is the start of the work. Ideogram is specialised around readable text inside images and character consistency from one reference image. Neither free tier includes commercial rights.

Alternatives to Krea AI

Amit Kumar

Reviewed by

Amit Kumar

Full Stack AI Strategist

Amit Kumar runs MPAT, where he reviews AI tools and writes its guides. When he covers a tool he checks its pricing, credits and plan limits against the vendor's own pages, so readers know what a plan includes before they pay. He also leads the site's SEO and AI-focused content strategy.

Discussion

No comments yet. Say what Krea AI is good at, or where it falls down.

Signing in takes a moment; your text stays here.

Be the first to comment.