Rool is a private AI workspace that gives each user a cloud computer, called a Rool Machine, where chats, files and long-term memory are stored in Finland. It is for people who want AI help on real projects without ads or training on their data. The Standard plan is free, Plus costs €9 a month and Pro €25.
Rool Review: Private EU AI Workspace and Pricing
Private EU-hosted AI cloud machine with files and memory

Quick verdict
The free plan is the draw. It has no card and no time limit, and it includes AI, 2 machines and memory. The catch is the AI itself. You cannot choose the model and the vendor does not name the ones it hosts. There is also no team plan yet, and prices bought through the US App Store are higher than the euro prices on the web. It suits individuals and small groups, not teams that need admin controls.
How we reviewed Rool
We read the Rool homepage, the Rool pricing page, the FAQ, legal pages, developer docs and iOS App Store listing on 7 October 2026. Rool also has a Product Hunt page dated 7 October 2026.
Every Rool plan, price and limit in this review comes from Rool's own pages, checked on , and links to the page it came from. A review cannot be bought. How these reviews are written
On this page
Rool at a glance
Rool is an AI assistant that lives inside its own private Linux computer in the cloud. Each Rool Machine holds your chats, uploaded files, notes and a structured memory, and the AI agent runs inside the same virtual machine, so it can read your documents, create new files, run software and pick up a project where you left it. You start with a chat on the web, iPhone or Android, and can invite others into the same machine. Rool is made by Lightpost One Ltd in Dublin. As of 7 October 2026, the free Standard plan gives 2 machines with 1 GB each and 240 AI credits a day, which the vendor puts at about 20 to 25 typical reasoning prompts.
What Rool does
The features below come from the Rool features page, the Rool FAQ and the release notes on the App Store listing, read on 7 October 2026.
- A private cloud machine per workspace. Each Rool Machine is a Linux virtual machine with its own encrypted storage. The agent runs inside that VM, so your work is isolated at the machine level.
- Chat that works on files. You can bring in documents, PDFs, images, spreadsheets, code, audio and video, then ask Rool to summarise, edit, calculate or create new files. Voice input is supported.
- Object Memory. Chats, files and ideas become Objects stored in the machine, which the AI can link and build on later. A recent update added core memories, notes Rool sees in every conversation.
- Several machines. You can keep separate machines for work and personal projects, each with its own files and memory. Standard and Plus include 2 machines; Pro includes 5.
- Shared machines. Invited collaborators work in the same machine with the same files, memory and AI, with real-time sync and undo history.
- Connectors and MCP. Plus and Pro can connect outside services through built-in connectors and custom MCP servers.
- Export and API. You can download files at any time, ask the AI to package them, or reach the machine through an API. The Rool TypeScript SDK documentation shows how developers create machines, upload files, define agents and run Linux commands from their own apps.
Rool picks the AI model for each task, and you cannot choose one yourself. The FAQ says most requests run on models Rool hosts on GPU servers in the EU, but the vendor does not name those models.
Who Rool is for, and who should skip it
It fits you if you want one AI assistant that remembers a long-running project, such as a renovation, a research topic or a side business, and keeps the related files next to the chat. It also suits people who want their AI workspace hosted in the EU, and developers who want a persistent machine they can drive from code.
Skip it in these cases:
- You want to pick a model per chat. Rool chooses for you.
- You need team billing and admin controls today. The vendor says a team plan is still in the making.
- You need a security certification. We found no SOC 2 or ISO 27001 claim on the site.
- Anyone using it is under 16. The terms do not allow it.
Heavy daily users should expect to pay.
How much does Rool cost?
On the web, Plus is €9 a month and Pro is €25 a month, and a one-time voucher of 3,000 credits costs €5. The US App Store lists Plus at $12.99 and Pro at $29.99.

EUR, as listed on the web (the site shows no USD web prices), checked 7 October 2026, from the Rool pricing page and the credit section of the Rool FAQ. Paid plans are monthly subscriptions that renew automatically.
| Plan | Price | What you get | Where the tier stops |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | €0, free forever, no card | 2 Rool Machines, 1 GB storage each, 240 AI credits a day (10 an hour, balance capped at 1,000), Object Memory, AI models included | No connectors or MCP and no custom subdomain; AI pauses when credits run out until they refill |
| Plus | €9 a month | 2 machines, 2 GB each, 1,200 credits a day (50 an hour, cap 2,000), custom subdomain, connectors and MCP | No priority support |
| Pro | €25 a month | 5 machines, 10 GB each, 4,800 credits a day (200 an hour, cap 5,000), custom subdomain, connectors and MCP, priority support | Highest published tier; storage cannot be bought separately |
| Credit voucher | €5, one-time | 3,000 AI credits, redeemable on any plan including Standard, and transferable until redeemed | No subscription |
The US Rool App Store listing shows in-app purchases of Plus at $12.99 and Pro at $29.99, so prices bought through Apple differ from the web prices; the listing does not state the billing period. Neither the pricing page nor the FAQ says whether the euro prices include VAT. The Rool terms of service say fees are non-refundable unless the law requires otherwise, and that prices can change with reasonable notice.
How Rool credits work, and where the free plan stops
Credits meter AI use and track the compute a request actually consumes. The FAQ says a typical reasoning prompt averages about 10 credits, a simple factual question can cost 1, and heavy repetitive work or media generation costs more. On that basis the free plan's 240 daily credits cover about 20 to 25 typical reasoning prompts.

When credits run out, nothing is deleted: you can still read and edit the machine, and AI resumes as credits refill, after a voucher or after an upgrade. A full machine pauses new uploads until you free space. By our arithmetic from those figures, a €5 voucher of 3,000 credits is roughly 300 typical reasoning prompts.
Privacy, data and terms
The Rool privacy policy, effective 29 September 2026, says Rool does not sell personal data, shows no ads and does not use your content to train AI models on any plan. Machines, files, conversations and account data are stored in Finland. Records of each AI request and response are kept for 30 days, and staff may access machine data for support, faults or security incidents.
The Rool subprocessor register names Hetzner and Verda in Finland for hosting and GPUs, Google Cloud in its Finland region, Stripe, Apple, Resend for email, which stores message content in the United States, and Speechmatics for voice. Optional services you can switch off in settings include TensorX as a backup model provider, Google's Vertex AI for images, and Brave Search, SerpApi and Jina Reader for search and page reading.
The terms set a minimum age of 16, Irish law and Irish courts, and a liability cap of the fees paid in the previous 12 months, or €100 for free users. Per the Rool account deletion page, you can delete your account from settings; backups are purged within 30 days, and invoices are kept for up to 5 years for tax reasons. The Rool contact page lists a Dublin office address and Irish company number for Lightpost One Ltd. Rool also runs a paid creator referral programme, so some recommendations online are paid.
How Rool compares with other tools reviewed here
We have not reviewed another private cloud-machine assistant, so these are the closest tools.
- Raycast, the keyboard launcher with paid AI, has a free launcher but no AI on the free plan; AI starts with Pro at $10 a month for 500 credits, per our review checked 24 September 2026. Raycast runs on your computer; Rool runs in a cloud machine.
- Viktor, the AI employee for Slack and Teams, starts teams with $100 in free credits and sells Team plans from $50 a month for 20,000 shared credits, per our review checked 4 October 2026. Viktor works inside company chat; Rool is a personal or small-group machine.
- Squint, the on-screen AI answer tool, has a Free plan of 3 captures a day and Plus at $10 a month or $99 a year, per our review checked 30 September 2026. Squint answers about what is on your screen; Rool keeps a project's files and history in one place.
For more assistants and workspace tools, browse productivity tools.
Rool screenshots
More of Rool's own website, captured . Each caption says which page it shows.




Sources
Plan names, prices, credit allowances and storage limits come from the pricing page and the FAQ, and App Store prices from the iOS App Store listing. Features come from the features page, the FAQ and the SDK documentation. Data handling comes from the privacy policy and the subprocessor register, both dated 29 September 2026, and age, refund and liability rules from the terms of service, effective 17 September 2026. The 7 October 2026 date comes from the Product Hunt listing. All pages were read on 7 October 2026.
Rool pros and cons
Pros
- Free Standard plan with no card and no time limit, including AI, 2 machines and Object Memory (checked 7 October 2026)
- Published credit allowances per plan, plus a vendor estimate of about 10 credits per typical reasoning prompt
- Data stored in Finland, a dated subprocessor register, and no training on your content on any plan
- Optional third-party providers (backup models, image generation, search, page reading) can each be switched off
- Files, chats and memory stay together in one machine you can share, export or drive through an API and SDK
- Named company with a Dublin address, Irish governing law and a self-serve account deletion path
Cons
- Prices are in euros on the web; the US App Store charges more ($12.99 Plus, $29.99 Pro) and VAT treatment is not stated
- You cannot choose the AI model, and the vendor does not name the models it hosts
- Free credits cover about 20 to 25 typical reasoning prompts a day, and heavier work or media generation costs more
- No team plan, shared billing or admin controls yet; fees are non-refundable unless the law requires otherwise
- AI request logs are kept for 30 days, staff may access machine data for support or faults, and email content is stored in the US by Resend
- No SOC 2 or ISO certification is claimed
The bottom line on Rool
Best for
- Long-running AI projects
- Privacy-minded EU users
- Developers using a persistent machine
Facts checked
Visit RoolRool FAQ
Is Rool free?
Yes. The Standard plan is free with no card and no time limit. It includes 2 Rool Machines with 1 GB each, Object Memory and 240 AI credits a day, about 20 to 25 typical reasoning prompts by the vendor's estimate. Connectors and MCP need Plus or Pro (checked 7 October 2026).
How much does Rool cost?
On the web, Plus is €9 a month and Pro is €25 a month, and a one-time voucher of 3,000 credits costs €5. The US App Store lists in-app purchases of Plus at $12.99 and Pro at $29.99. The terms say fees are non-refundable unless the law requires otherwise.
What is Rool used for?
Long-running projects where an AI should keep the files, notes and decisions in one private place: drafting reports from notes, planning from saved tasks, organising documents and running code. Developers can also create machines and agents through the TypeScript SDK.
What is an AI credit in Rool?
Credits meter AI use by the compute a request consumes. The FAQ says a typical reasoning prompt averages about 10 credits, a simple question can cost 1, and media generation costs more. Credits refill hourly up to a plan cap, and nothing is deleted when they run out.
Does Rool train AI on my data?
No, according to its privacy policy and terms. Rool says it does not use your content to train AI models on any plan, and its third-party AI providers are contractually barred from doing so. AI request records are kept for 30 days for fault and abuse checks.
Where is Rool data stored?
In Finland. Machines, files, conversations and account data are hosted there, mainly with Hetzner and Google Cloud's Finland region. Some providers, such as Stripe, Apple and the email service Resend, may hold data outside the EU under contractual safeguards.
Which AI models does Rool use?
Rool does not publish model names. It picks a model for each task, runs most requests on models it hosts on GPU servers in the EU, and can fall back to TensorX, a backup provider you can switch off in settings.
Alternatives to Rool
AyvenFree plan + paid upgradesAI coordinator that chases team tasks in Slack and Teams
Chat.shFree plan + paid upgradesAI help center that answers with citationsCoreSpeedFree plan + paid upgradesMCP access layer for AI agents
OctriFree plan + paid upgradesOpenAPI spec to docs, SDKs, MCP server and monitoring
StayChartedFree plan + paid upgradesNo-code AI classifiers trained on your labeled data

Reviewed by
Amit Kumar
Full Stack AI Strategist
Amit Kumar runs MPAT, where he reviews AI tools and writes its guides. When he covers a tool he checks its pricing, credits and plan limits against the vendor's own pages, so readers know what a plan includes before they pay. He also leads the site's SEO and AI-focused content strategy.

